Brian Joynes Observatory

Austerfield Field Study Centre, Doncaster, DN10 6RG

Location description

The Austerfield Field Study Centre on the South East outskirts of Doncaster is home to the fabulous Brian Joynes Observatory and is run in partnership with the very keen and enthusiastic members of Doncaster Astronomy Society. In particular the location caters especially for group visits including school, Scout groups etc. Members of the public are also very welcome to attend during any regular event all of which are suitable for all ages and abilities. Visiting this facility comes highly recommended.


Location event organiser

Doncaster Astronomical Society organises stargazing events at this location.


Astronomical society

Meeting place for local astronomical society, often in a location that enables stargazing and observing.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a suburban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 4th September 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 11th September 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 18th September 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 25th September 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 2nd October 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 9th October 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 16th October 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 23rd October 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 30th October 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 6th November 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 13th November 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 20th November 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 27th November 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 4th December 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 11th December 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 18th December 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 25th December 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 1st January 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 8th January 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 15th January 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 22nd January 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 29th January 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 5th February 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 12th February 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 19th February 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 26th February 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 5th March 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 12th March 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 19th March 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 26th March 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 2nd April 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 9th April 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 16th April 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 23rd April 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 30th April 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 7th May 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 14th May 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 21st May 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 28th May 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 4th June 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 11th June 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 18th June 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 25th June 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 2nd July 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 9th July 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 16th July 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 23rd July 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Brian Joynes Observatory Observing Evening

Friday 30th July 2021 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Location

When to visit

The best time to visit Brian Joynes Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Telescopes for beginners

Thinking of purchasing a telescope!? See our guide as to which telescopes we recommend for beginners.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications